Womenspiring Wednesdays…

Be The Change You Want To See !

Nandini Bhatia…Life’s about taking chances!!

Leave a comment

There’s a reason why it’s called leap of faith. You just close your eyes, run, fly… It’s the greatest risk and you can be nervous as hell, but you need to give yourself the permission to do that . Who knows you may just be in for the most amazing joyride of your life ….110And what a joyride it has been … the switch from being a successful employee for the best corporate house in India to a full grown entrepreneur.

As a child, I have always enjoyed taking challenges head-on whether it was excelling at academics, or playing sports at national level or pursing my hobby in art and reading.

All these formative years taught me to work hard and not be worried about getting my hands dirty, focus on the essentials, have a plan and get the right people to be around you.

After finishing college, work was exhilarating and I have always enjoyed the energy around start-up and the growth in learning curve they bring by just the sheer amount of work involved in them.

I took a short after I got married since I moved to another city, but was back at working in no time.. Launching new brands and trying out new business models .The organisation that I worked for didn’t even mind investing in such models. It was good if the new model was viable, but my organisation didn’t mind even if you failed at it. On the contrary, it would urge us to make presentations to the senior management on what went wrong and what we learned from it. And how would be avoid similar mistakes on a new venture.

I went on to work until the last day of my pregnancy and then proceed on maternity leave for 6 months, waiting to get back to work.

At the end of those 6 months, my husband was of the opinion that I should start something on my own since that was the best way to beat inflation. He was against me going back and working for someone else and wanted that I dived full time into my own business.

I decided to move to Bombay and start a factory here for manufacturing bakery products. I started my own venture Redefine and the brands Baker Magic &Master Baker. As luck would have it, just before the factory got launched my father in law (who was based in Bombay and a source of support ) was diagnosed with stage IV pancreatic cancer and had only a few months to live.

Slide 1Slide 1

It was a very difficult time physically and emotionally and it tested me tremendously. I have learnt the most in life out of these   last 4 years and have built  lasting friendships personally and professionally. I learnt to count my blessing and take a day at a time . And in the middle of all this I realized it was important to care for oneself and you can only make others happy if you are in a happy place. My daughter is a constant source of joy for me and keeps me on my toes.

And while after 4 years I have moved the factory to a larger premises and have significant market share domestically and internationally with an excellent product portfolio, I now know that Rome wasn’t built in a day .

As a full time mother of a young child , I  choose the kind of work I want to do , and the kind of people I  want to work with and at the end of the day … I persevere .. coz that’s what makes sure I get results at the end of the day .I still take chances , try out new things , after all I only have one life ……

Leave a Reply

